Personally Personal Personality

Time: 8:00pm

Date: 6/6/17

Do you ever think someone is 100% themselves all the time?

Or do you put on different personalities around different people? Maybe not different personalities so to say but maybe you show them different sides of your personality that you don’t show to others?

I know for me personally as someone who is still trying to find who they are that I show different sides of myself to different people. Depending who I feel comfortable with will depend the type of personality traits I show them.

Personality is a deep and difficult concept. There are so many different facets to different people. It amazes me how diverse everyone is to each other and how you can be attracted to various personality traits that are presented in others and how some people don’t mesh with others where as some people can mesh very easily.

Personally for me I’m the type of person that will keep everything in and I will decide to tell certain people certain things and show different people different aspects of my personality. It doesn’t mean I’m lying about the type of person I am its just I can’t handle the questions or judgement that comes from telling or showing something as deep as who I am to someone. It’s the constant fear that someone will betray my trust with the information I’ve told them about myself. I think after being hurt so many times in your life it definitely takes toll on your trust for people and sometimes some things are better kept to yourself. I have definitely had first hand experience in this.

I’ve learnt that being alone is okay as your happy enjoying your own company. I learnt to enjoy my own company whilst I was stuck travelling with myself for 6 weeks and was put into a variety of situations in which I had to rely on only myself. I think people begin to feel alone when they begin to stop enjoying their own company. You have to begin to appreciate yourself and realise that there is a whole world out there provided to you for you to discover who you are as a person. As long as you know who you are then its up to you to decide what aspect of your personality you show to others.

Who you are as a person can only be defined on how you react to certain situations. I think that is the ultimate test of personality.

“Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it” – Bruce Lee

Leave a Reply

