The Very First Post

Date: May 28th 2017

Time: 9:00pm

This is the very first of (hopefully) many blog posts that will hopefully be read by someone other than myself.

The question of what to write came up many times, there are so many things to write about but where are you supposed to start (they don’t really hand out blog writing manuals on the street.) I feel like introducing myself might possibly be the best way to understand my intentions behind this creation of a whole lot of ranting and writing.

So here it goes…

I’m a mid 20-year-old girl who has no idea who she is going to be or who she even is. I live in Melbourne, Australia with my parents and younger sister. As much as I would love to move out of home and really enjoy my own space it’s not financially possible. Don’t get me wrong I have a good job and could financially support myself but I think I could not give up the part of my life that enjoys travelling. It’s an expensive hobby but is very rewarding. Its made me independent, strong and constantly grateful for the things I have, the people I choose to surround myself with and to constantly question whether something is really worth as much time and energy as you give it.

I don’t think I was ever meant to stay in one place. After staying in one place for a long period of time I get irritable and bored. I don’t feel comfortable with the feeling of being comfortable. I need room to grow and I need room to breath and that sense of staying in one place for the rest of your life does not give me any satisfaction. I hope I’m not the only person in the world that feels this way so hopefully someone can understand my frustration of feeling like your not meant for the place that you are at.

I feel like there is just so much more out there and why should anyone have to settle for what others think is right for them. Marriage, children, owing a home – all the things I thought I wanted when I was a child has changed. It’s a very 19th and 20th century way of thinking. After being exposed to so many different things and the clarity I have received through exploring different places and meeting different and interesting people does not match up with the expectations of how others see the way you should live your life.

“The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page” – Saint Augustine

Leave a Reply

